December 20, 2018

Udall Congratulates New Mexico Nominees to United States Service Academies

WASHINGTON -- Today, U.S. Senator Tom Udall announced the 44 New Mexico students who have received his nomination to attend a United States service academy beginning in 2019. A congressional, vice-presidential, or service-connected nomination is required for admission to the U.S. Military Academy (West Point), the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Air Force Academy and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Students receiving Udall's nomination completed a competitive application process, which included interviews with the senator’s Military Academy Service Panels, comprised of active duty service members, veterans and community leaders. 

“The United States service academies provide a top-notch education and unparalleled opportunities for students to excel in both military and civilian life, and it is my honor to congratulate the New Mexico students I have nominated to the service academies this year,” said Udall. “These exceptional young people have demonstrated strong leadership in both their academic and extracurricular activities, along with a commitment to serve – a true testament to their character and motivation. They represent some of New Mexico's best and brightest, and I wish them luck as they move on to the next phase of the admissions process. I am confident they will represent New Mexico well as they continue their education and pursue a life of leadership and service.”

Nominated students will now compete for admission to their service academy over the coming months. Those admitted will begin classes in the summer of 2019 as members of the class of 2023. 

The following are the students nominated from New Mexico by academy: 

United States Military Academy (West Point)

Mya Martinez-Metzgar of Albuquerque

Sage Min of Albuquerque

Hector Reyes of Albuquerque

Noah Rodney of Albuquerque

Esperanza Varoz of Albuquerque

Corbyn Foster of Farmington

Pierce Gannon of Madrid

Alex Lee of Roswell

Jake Leible of Roswell

James Brady of Las Cruces


United States Naval Academy

Isaac Remenar of Albuquerque

Makayla Fernandez-Sanchez of Belen

Morgan Fortin of Albuquerque

Matthew Gardiner of Bernalillo

Sophia Gonzales of Albuquerque

Hannah Grenemyer of Albuquerque

Kaci Jarry of Albuquerque 

Devin Marshall of Albuquerque

Cameron Mayo of Albuquerque

Joshua Salazar of Albuquerque

Thomas Smith of Bosque Farms

Ana Bader-Elenes of Albuquerque

Dominic Morgan of Santa Fe

Jacob Torrez of Los Alamos

Joshua Valdez of Las Vegas

Neil Wilkerson of Los Alamos

Kieran Binkley of Las Cruces

Marco Esparza of Anthony

Cristina Esparza of Anthony


United States Air Force Academy

Yasemin Emami of Los Lunas

Alexandria Forrester of Albuquerque

Brandon Hunt of Albuquerque

Marlene Lorber of Albuquerque

Jerry Sun of Albuquerque

Keiko Yamamoto of Albuquerque

Natalie Zannino of Rio Rancho

Gunnar Schwab of Farmington

James Burroughes of Clovis 

Taffitha Miller of Las Cruces

Jeremy Stevens of Las Cruces


United States Merchant Marine Academy

Marcos Salazar of Albuquerque

Mark Shover of Albuquerque

Zakrye Toliver of Albuquerque

Dillan Rose of Las Cruces